Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Go down

Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Kuyanator on Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:44 pm

I was wondering with the AR ban drawing it's last breath on the Federal scale, would you guys sell one of your ARs to get the Springfield Armory TRP 1911? I always wanted a 1911, and the Kriss is my first 45acp (always been a 9mm guy). Now I'm loving 45's. Anyway, I recently bought the Sig P239 to try out as a carry piece, and I have to say, not really a fan of the 380. However, I loved the 1911 style platform it's designed on.

I started researching full size 1911's and figured I'd be dropping over $1000 for a decent platform. I'm left-handed, so I need an ambi-saftey. I am crossed between the Sig Scorpion 1911 and the SA TRP. So back to the topic, since getting the Vector, I have been assessing my collection and I find that the ARs aren't getting much range time for one reason or another. I was humoring the idea of trading / selling an AR for the 1911. My friends say that I'm nuts replacing a rifle caliber for a pistol caliber. But with 5.56 running scarce, I feel that it isn't really much of a loss. Am I really crazy? Would you liquidate rifle stock to purchase a high end pistol? Especially in the same caliber as the gun your shooting most now... the Vector?
avatar
Kuyanator

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-03-27
Age : 39
Location : Philly

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Kiptroloxe on Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:04 pm

Having the same caliber makes life easier. I have had many pistols, but 1911's are my favorite. I have a Kimber and a Colt, both full size. I'm not a big fan of the ar platform unless using .308 or 7.62x39.
avatar
Kiptroloxe

Posts : 81
Join date : 2013-01-03

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by mambro on Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:35 pm

If you don't have a continued desire or need for the AR, then purge it while the market is up. 1911s are nice in the hand, no doubt.... I've had several over time, but I opted for the poly .45 (HK45) for ease of maintenance over the 1911. It's entirely personal preference... especially for a carry piece.
beers
avatar
mambro
MOD

Posts : 611
Join date : 2012-01-08
Location : McKinney, TX

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Kuyanator on Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:59 pm

Kiptroloxe wrote:Having the same caliber makes life easier. I have had many pistols, but 1911's are my favorite. I have a Kimber and a Colt, both full size. I'm not a big fan of the ar platform unless using .308 or 7.62x39.

I looked at the 1911 Kimbers before chambered in 9mm. From what I read they are solid guns. I guess you can't go wrong with a Colt 1911 as well.

mambro wrote:If you don't have a continued desire or need for the AR, then purge it while the market is up. 1911s are nice in the hand, no doubt.... I've had several over time, but I opted for the poly .45 (HK45) for ease of maintenance over the 1911. It's entirely personal preference... especially for a carry piece.
beers

Outside of the 1911 platform, in poly, I was eyeing up the HK45 and the FNH FNX 45 Tactical. I prefer ambi mechanisms being a left handed shooter. Then again, I guess the Glock 21 is on the table too... shareable assets Smile
avatar
Kuyanator

Posts : 11
Join date : 2013-03-27
Age : 39
Location : Philly

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by mambro on Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:09 pm

A G21 would make a lot of sense... and for much less than the TRP (or other poly). As you noted... bonus... mags are common. Twisted Evil
avatar
mambro
MOD

Posts : 611
Join date : 2012-01-08
Location : McKinney, TX

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:11 pm

Im a huge fan of the Glock 21. My "airsoft" version haha.



_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:15 pm

Also you can use Magex with G21.


_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Jedi380 on Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:18 pm

I have my Dad's old Colt 1911, still a great gun. I also have a Springfield Ultramax V-10 (compensated small .45), and a Taurus 24/7 Long Slide .45.

I'd recommend you take a look at the Taurus 1911. It has many nice features (like an ambi-saftey!) and a pretty good price for what you get. A friend of mine who is a definite gun-guy has 2 of the Taurii (Tauruses?) he likes them that much. Smile

_________________
Never Laugh At A Sleeping Dragon.
avatar
Jedi380

Posts : 239
Join date : 2013-01-24
Location : Dayton, OH

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by nih on Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:21 pm

I thought about 1911 and maybe HK45 but in the end, i have all these Kriss mags...glock 21, i have gen3 SF model, fits hand nice, shoots straight. I do notice if i just shoot the 21 it doesnt seem bad at all but if i shoot my 9mm then pick up the 21, seems like allot of recoil. It is the "king of glocks" for a reason though.

Also if 45 and CCW are your thoughts, you really can't beat the springfield XDS as far as price/function, single stack 45, haven't shot but fondled it, pretty nice all around CCW gun. good luck finding one though.

And no, i wouldn't trade an AR for another gun right now unless somebody was just super gulable paying absurb amounts of money. they could still get banned, our f'n stupid gov'ment.

nih

Posts : 177
Join date : 2012-04-24

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:58 pm

If you can. Try shooting a Gen4 Glock 21. The recoil spring makes a difference.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by MadDogDan on Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:57 pm

I decided early on after making some bad sales decisions (I sold my TRP Operator to fund an FN45 Tactical) never to sell any guns again even if I don't use them as I will probably want those particular guns again in the future.

That being said I loved my TRP but there is only one model TRP I would ever consider getting again. It is the older style TRP Operator with the full length rail/dust cover. I has that monolithic look and balanced perfectly. I also believe the action on those older models were tuned much better then the current crop of TRP's.

JMHO,
MadDog 10

This is what I sold my TRP for: I love this FN and will not part with it "ever" but would like to get another TRP Operator.





MadDogDan

Posts : 175
Join date : 2013-03-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Jedi380 on Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:42 pm

I do like that FN Tactical! 10


That gives me an idea though... Would there be a way to mount those sights onto a Kriss SDP? Is the dovetail wider than a slot in a picatinny rail, and could the slot be machined out for a dovetail? scratch

_________________
Never Laugh At A Sleeping Dragon.
avatar
Jedi380

Posts : 239
Join date : 2013-01-24
Location : Dayton, OH

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by MadDogDan on Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:50 pm

The Trijicon RMR has no dovetail. The bottom of the sight is flat and either screws directly to the slide or screws to a picatinny rail mount. You could use the RMR on the SDP but you would need the rail mount. This particular RMR is now on a 45* mount in front of an ACOG on one of my AR's. The pistol has another Trijicon RMR but has a smaller red dot (2 moa).

MadDog

MadDogDan

Posts : 175
Join date : 2013-03-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Jedi380 on Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:35 pm

Sorry, I didn't mean the RMR, I was referring to the iron sights that came with the pistol. ;)

_________________
Never Laugh At A Sleeping Dragon.
avatar
Jedi380

Posts : 239
Join date : 2013-01-24
Location : Dayton, OH

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:27 am

MadDogDan wrote:






What logo is on that hat?

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:35 am

Jedi380 wrote:Sorry, I didn't mean the RMR, I was referring to the iron sights that came with the pistol. ;)


I thought about it and don't think it could work for the SDP. There is no adjustment for elevation. Given the height over bore on the Kriss platform, I don't think It would work to well.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by mambro on Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:08 am

Solscud007 wrote:What logo is on that hat?
AAC

http://www.advanced-armament.com/Lifestyle_c_24.html


Last edited by mambro on Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:10 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
mambro
MOD

Posts : 611
Join date : 2012-01-08
Location : McKinney, TX

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Solscud007 on Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:10 am

Actually I think it coukd work if you use adjustable rear pistol sight. Just not sure how much adjustment there is.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Jedi380 on Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:39 am

Solscud007 wrote:
Jedi380 wrote:Sorry, I didn't mean the RMR, I was referring to the iron sights that came with the pistol. ;)


I thought about it and don't think it could work for the SDP. There is no adjustment for elevation. Given the height over bore on the Kriss platform, I don't think It would work to well.

I'm thinking "regular" pistol sights would be much less obtrusive, AND closer to the bore, than the AR-style flip-up sights. Yes, adjustable for elevation would be preferred.

Obviously I would not be trying to co-witness with an optic. ;)

_________________
Never Laugh At A Sleeping Dragon.
avatar
Jedi380

Posts : 239
Join date : 2013-01-24
Location : Dayton, OH

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinion: Sell AR for a SA 1911 TRP?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum