PNW Arms ammo review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Solscud007 on Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:20 pm

Ok so thanks to PNW's offer of 20% off, I ordered a box of 500 rds. I usually buy Remington or Winchester White Box. The price of the PNW box, even with the 20%, is just a bit more expensive than the Remington I get for $19.99 for a box of 50. But if the PNW holds up to what they say it does, the price may be worth it for the cleanliness.


Here is what showed up at my door today. Nice touch on the patch in the packing list envelope.



Opening the box, is another box. See below.



Open that box and it is a bag full of ammo. I need to find something to store my ammo when I go to the range. I was expecting 10 boxes of 50 rds. Not that I am dissapointed, but I didnt expect this.



Im loving the patch. I was expecting the rectangular patch but got this round patch instead. It perfectly fits the round velcro I sewed onto my KRISS Super V polo shirt.



Now onto the real stuff.

I just cleaned my Vector. I shot it during my last indoor match back in February. Didnt clean it and ran it when I met up with fellow Krisstalk member, Chung.

After a few shots, and I mean a few like at most 10, the Vector jammed. Twice. We were using my Remington 45 auto. At the Match in February I used Winchester white box. I shot about 90+ rounds (cause i bought a 100 rd box at Walmart and did not use all of it.)

Here is a video of it jamming.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=coVl26hsqyY

After a quick field strip and a pass thru the barrel with my bore snake, I added a couple drops of weaponshield. I shot a few rapid fire strings and it seemed good to go.

So here are the results of cleaning the Vector in preparation for my match this coming Sunday.

This is what came from the chamber and slider rails.



This is what came from the bolt and slider.



I will update this post after my shoot this Sunday.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Solscud007 on Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:40 pm

So I had a 6 stage match. Today. I shot around 120 rds. I cant remember at the moment. But I defintely went over a 100 rd box. ( I got the MTM 100 rd box to house my PNW ammo)

So I came home and inspected the lower. I have to say it is a LOT cleaner than when I shot a similar amount of ammo last month.

Here is what it looks like inside.



This picture is really telling. The piece on the left is from cleaning my lower before I shot the PNW KRISS ammo. The piece on the right is from cleaning the lower after I shot PNW KRISS ammo



Before PNW.




After PNW

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Solscud007 on Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:08 pm

Here is a video of me at the USPSA match. Shooting the KRISS Vector with PNW ammo.



Last edited by Solscud007 on Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:31 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by CatMostFeared on Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:29 pm

PNW needs to sponsor you in your matches
avatar
CatMostFeared
Admin

Posts : 799
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 48
Location : Kentucky

http://www.krisstalk.com

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Solscud007 on Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:30 pm

That would be nice. hint hint wink wink!!! haha I was rocking the patch on my right sleeve.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by dhshammer on Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:33 am

Wow.

Thank you Solscud007 for your post....

The unreliability and clumsy ergonomics of the Kriss is stunning! Based on what I saw, I would not want to rely on this weapon in a high stress life and death situation.......

I am truly at a crossroad about what to do with mine.


dhshammer

Posts : 19
Join date : 2012-03-25

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Solscud007 on Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:26 pm

I think it is fair to say that I am clumsy and unreliable.

Nothing is fool proof and 100% reliable. Practicing with failures makes you react faster and at least you will have experienced it fail and can deal with it.

_________________
Most of the information I find and collect about the Kriss is documented on my facebook page.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968
avatar
Solscud007
MOD

Posts : 1580
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 37
Location : Pittsburgh, PA

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kriss-Super-V/157275704339968?sk=w

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by CatMostFeared on Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:33 pm

The KRISS would be one of my 1st weapons of choice.
I did notice the upper and the barrel has alot of play in it
and I think I have a solution for it but since I won't get to keep
my Vector until around end of June and can do anything with it yet
avatar
CatMostFeared
Admin

Posts : 799
Join date : 2012-01-05
Age : 48
Location : Kentucky

http://www.krisstalk.com

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by dhshammer on Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:45 am

CatMostFeared

Thank you for confirming that there is play between the upper and lower!!!!
(thus degrading accuracy)

I appreciate engineering honesty.................

Check this out.........

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=554040

I think that in reality, the Kriss is designed as a close range, full auto military or law enforcement platform....

I believe that we civilians are trying to turn the Kriss into a weapon that it is not designed for....

dhshammer

Posts : 19
Join date : 2012-03-25

Back to top Go down

Re: PNW Arms ammo review

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum